Schools' Festivals

| 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 |

schools festival 2010

Club president Dr John Davidson pictured with Caitlin Robertson [centre] of Moncreiffe Primary School, winner of the Robert W. Donaghy Quaich for primary school solo singing and Rosie Beech, Strathallan School, winner of the Windyedge Bowl for secondary school solo singing. Rosie Beech was also the winner of the Grampian Cup for secondary pupils [under 15] verse speaking.

schools festival 2010

Some of the pupils who took part in the Schools Festival pictured along with president Dr John Davidson and the festival's entries co-ordinator Mrs Anna Merry. In the centre of the back row is Otto Kakhidze, winner of the Archibald Morrison Memorial Quaich for secondary school [over 15] verse speaking and the President's Prize for the best performance in the festival of a Robert Burns poem, song or musical piece.

schools festival 2010

Freya Bachell of St John's Academy pictured with the Graham D. Thomson Rosebowl which she won in the secondary schools fiddle playing section.

The Club's 24th annual Schools Festival was held in the Salutation Hotel, Perth during the afternoon of Sunday, November 21, 2010 when around 40 pupils from primary and secondary schools throughout Perthshire and Kinross competed in a programme of Scots verse speaking, solo singing, accordion playing and fiddle playing. In addition to the main awards, all competitors were presented with certificates of proficiency.

The trophy winners were as follows:

Accordion Playing
[Adjudicated by Mr Jimmy Cassidy]
Primary pupils [The Hector D. Chisholm Quaich] - Alexander Girling, Arngask Primary
Secondary pupils [The Dalriada Cup] - Alexander Stewart, Perth Grammar

Fiddle Playing
[Adjudicated by Mr John Napier]
Secondary pupils [The Graham D. Thomson Rosebowl] - Freya Bachell, St John's Academy, Perth

Solo Singing
[Adjudicated by Mr Henry C. Neil, MBE]
Primary pupils [The Robert W. Donaghy Quaich] - Caitlin Robertson, Moncreiffe Primary
Secondary pupils [The Windyedge Bowl] - Rosie Beech, Strathallan

Verse Speaking
[Adjudicated by Mrs Lovina Roe]
Primary pupils in Classes 4 and 5 [The Binn Farm Quaich] - Cameron Rodger, Abernethy Primary
Primary pupils in Classes 6 and 7 [The Ruth Lumsden Quaich] - Leona Craig, Crieff Primary
Secondary pupils under 15 [The Grampian Cup] - Rosie Beech, Strathallan
Secondary pupils over 15 [The Archibald Morrison Memorial Quaich] - Otto Kakhidze, Strathallan

The President's Prize, a silver salver presented to the club by Bill Dawson [a past president of both Perth Burns Club and the Robert Burns World Federation] for the best performance in the Festival of a Robert Burns poem, song or piece of music, was awarded to Otto Kakhidze of Strathallan School for his recital of the Burns poem "Willie Wastle".